Messages

Last updated 2 months ago

The Conversation Messages view lists all the messages and activity in a specific one-on-one or group conversation.

Writing Messages / Replies

See Creating Conversations for creating a new conversation.

Sharing

Posts

To share a post with a new or existing conversation:

Profiles

To share a profile with a new or existing conversation:

  • When viewing the Profile of a user, use the Send to… option under the Share button in the title bar.

  • When viewing the Profile of a user, use the User > Share > Send to… Menu Bar item.

Locations

To share a location with a new or existing conversation:

  • When viewing the location's feed, use the Send to… option under the Share button in the title bar.

  • When viewing the location's feed, use the Location > Share > Send to… Menu Bar item.

Hashtags

To share a hashtag with a new or existing conversation:

  • When viewing the hashtag's feed, use the Send to… option under the Share button in the title bar.

  • When viewing the hashtag's feed, use the Hashtag > Share > Send to… Menu Bar item.

Photos / Videos

It is possible to share photos and videos privately in a one-on-one or group conversation. These shared items are only visible to members of the conversation and are not posted to your Profile.

To share a photo / video:

  • In an existing conversation, click the Upload button in the compose area. You can select from an existing photo or video, or use your web-cam to take a photo.

When selecting a photo or video file, the usual photo and video upload specifications apply.

Downloading Shared Photos / Videos

To download a photo or video shared in a conversation:

  • Right-click the photo or video, then select Download Photo/Video… from the contextual menu.

  • When selecting a message using the keyboard arrows, use the Message > Download Photo/Video… Menu Bar item.

You will be asked to choose a download location.

Liking / Unliking Messages

To like an individual message sent in a conversation:

Viewing Message Timestamps

To view the time a message was sent:

The time will appear beside the message.

Translating Messages

To translate a text message sent in a conversation:

The translation option will only appear if the message contains text. The translation will use your current language setting.

Unsending Messages

To unsend a message you sent in a conversation: