Profile
The profile view displays all the posts and related information for a particular user. Certain features will toggle if you are viewing your own profile, a business profile, a private user.

Posts

Posts can be viewed in either a single column or a 3x3 grid.
  • To view posts in a 3x3 grid, click the grid
    button in the profile tab bar.
  • To view posts in single column, click the column
    button in the profile tab bar.

Tagged Posts

To view posts that the profile's user has been tagged in:
  • Click the tagged
    button in the profile tab bar.
When viewing the tagged posts on your own profile, you can also remove tags from posts.

Removing Tagged Posts

To remove yourself from posts you have been tagged in:
  • Use the Hide Photos… option under the actions
    button that appears above the tagged posts on your profile. Make your selections, and confirm them by clicking the confirm
    button in the title bar. You can cancel the selections using the
    cancel button.
  • When viewing the details of a post you are tagged in, use the Remove me from [Photo|Video]… option under the actions
    button in the title bar.
  • When viewing the details of a post you are tagged in, use the Remove me from [Photo/Video]… option in the menu bar.

Changing Tagging Options

If you would like to disable users from being able to tag you in photos:
  • Use the Tagging Options… option under the actions
    button that appears above the tagged posts on your profile.
If set Add Automatically is disabled, you will be notified in activity when someone tags you in a photo, with the option to keep or remove the tag.

Saved Posts

To view posts that you have saved:

Archived Posts

When viewing your own profile, you can view all the posts you have archived. Only you can see these posts.
To view posts that you have archived:
To archive or unarchive a post:
  • Right click a post and choose the Archive [Photo|Video] or Show on Profile menu item.
  • When viewing the details of one of your posts, use the Archive [Photo|Video] or Show on Profile option in the menu bar.

Followers / Following

To view the followers or followings of a profile, click the Followers or Following button. The current relationship status between you and each user is displayed, allowing you to quickly follow or unfollow users from other profiles.
To follow/unfollow a user:
  • Click the follow
    or following
    button (when hovering, the following button will change in appearance to the unfollow
    button).

Friend Requests

If your profile is set to private, users that wish to follow you will require your approval. When there are pending friend requests, they will be visible in various places:
  • On your profile, with a badge that appears above your avatar.
  • At the top of your activity.
  • On the profile of user that sent the friend request, a banner will appear.
  • The profile view in the Flume menu will show an indicator.
  • The Dock icon will be badged (see Notifications Preferences)

Responding to Friend Requests

To respond to friend requests:
  • When viewing the list of pending friend requests, click either the accept
    or decline
    button that appears next to each user.
  • When viewing the profile of user that has sent you a friend request, click either the accept
    or decline
    button that appears below the user's biography.
If you switch your profile to a public profile, all pending friend requests will be accepted.

Similar Account Suggestions

To view similar account suggestions on a profile:
  • Click the collapse
    button. To scroll the suggestions, use the
    and
    buttons, or view all similar account suggestions by clicking the
    button.

Following Account Suggestions

To follow a suggestion:
  • Click the
    button next to each user.

Ignoring Account Suggestions

To dismiss a suggestion:
  • Click the
    button next to each user.
You can opt-out of being suggested for other users by editing your profile via the Instagram website. Learn more.

Profile Previews

Profile previews are a way to quickly inspect a user's profile and follow them without leaving your current view. These are similar to the long-press actions or 3D Touch behaviours found on the mobile Instagram apps.
To view a profile preview:
  • Long-press on any profile picture or username
To follow a user in a profile preview, click the follow
button.
To close a profile preview, press the ⎋ (ESC) key, or click outside of the preview.
Last modified 2yr ago